Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

• Illuminated

So what exactly happened to Walt's vision for EPCOT?

I've been doing a bit of reading and since im basically quite new to Disney History etc this came as a bit of a shock to me. So Walt Disney wanted to build an entire city huh?

I know he died a little after these plans were announced so what happened, did they decide to scrap the idea when his brother took over cause I find this quite puzzling and an odd thing to do, to totally forget about a project Walt obviously had his heart set on?
    "I never miss the chance to have sex or appear on television."

• Huh?

Re: So what exactly happened to Walt's vision for EPCOT?

Well, the closest they got was Celebration, FL, which was nothing like the original EPCOT.

It died because of a lot of issues...

From wikipedia:
    Walt Disney passed away on December 15, 1966. Even when he was dying from lung cancer, his brother, Roy O. Disney, stated that Walt was still planning his city in the hospital. Walt was using the ceiling to imagine his city, planning excitedly.

After Walt's passing, the company directors decided that it was too risky to venture into city planning now that its biggest advocate was gone. But Roy persisted and took the reigns on the project, stepping out of retirement to do it. Unfortuantely, Roy could not convince the board to build EPCOT. But, he did pull ahead with the Magic Kingdom project.

The Walt Disney World Resort opened in October of 1971 with only the Magic Kingdom and a two hotels. Roy insisted it be called Walt Disney World as a tribute to the man who dreamed it up.

Epcot

In the late 1970s, Disney CEO Card Walker wanted to revisit the EPCOT idea. But the board was still weary and all agreed that Walt's EPCOT would not work in its initial incarnation; they thought that no one would want to live under a microscope and be watched constantly. The result of the compromise was the EPCOT Center theme park, which opened in 1982.